Archives

All posts for the day March 24th, 2012

ASCD Quick Thoughts

Published March 24, 2012 by syenp76

In this blog post, I like to share my thoughts and reflections in response to tweets on ASCD 2012…..

I totally agree with this. Otherwise it is all theory and no application, and that should not be the case with education, because education deals with people. Action speaks louder than words in positively transforming people’s minds.

I have problems with using humour myself in teaching, and for a long while I thought the reason lies with me – that I am not a humourous person. However, after these past years of teaching, I learnt that humour for me comes on easily with students I am well acquainted with, who find some of my actions or remarks amusing when I don’t think they are or when I really have no intention to be humourous. And in this way, I engage my students better, so at the end of the day, I think whether or not there is humour depends on the audience sometimes, and I conclude that maybe I can be a humourous person. Of course, if a teacher is a natural when it comes to cracking jokes or making funny remarks, it’s a bonus to effective student engagement. As David mentioned, humour is just one of the effective tools of teaching, there are a host of others that the not-so-humourous teachers can effectively employ to achieve the same educational outcomes.

By gathering feedback from students, which can be verbal via an informal chat with students, written via pen-and-paper responses, or virtual via online forums / surveys. In my school, we have in place a lecture feedback system modelled after the one-minute paper format of obtaining student post-lecture feedback on their level of understanding, concepts they have learnt and queries they have. Generally, I have learnt that while judgement based on mine or third parties’ classroom observations can provide information about students’ level of engagement or other learning behaviours in a class, nothing beats hearing from the students themselves.

The other thing of course is to conduct some kind of evaluation such as a quiz to check students’ understanding and assimilation, given that increased engagement should lead to enhanced comprehension on the part of the students.

Can’t agree more….I make it a point to spend some time right after or at least as soon as I can after every lesson to think over the lesson and pen my reflections. This has been my practice ever since I started teaching and it has kept me going in improving my teaching efficacy for the past 7 years. And also, the desire to reflect and improve has been the motivation for taking a break from teaching this year and reading a Masters course in Science Communication.

Exploring the use of this IT tool. Basically, it is a collaborative multimedia presentation that can be shared with other users who can put in comments via voice (microphone or telephone), text, video or audio file while the presentation (Word, PowerPoint etc) is played. One can also doodle on the media while commenting and the interactive conversation can be embedded into Websites or platforms like Moodle. Learning about another IT tool from a tool I have just started using (Tweeter)….cool!

Best quote of the day! Food for thought, and source of inspiration too to continually strive for excellence.

Defining the role of teachers / educators……At this juncture in my teaching career, I should reflect on the kind of value I have added to my students’ education. No doubt, I have taught them subject content, but have I taught my students how to be independent, self-directed learners before they graduate?  Maybe not for every student.

A comparison was made with the coaching of athletes as follows:

and the previous message about teaching becomes clearer. Are teachers in Singapore becoming more like coaches? Or do we need both teachers and coaches to work hand in hand in educating the young of today? What are the implications ? and in years to come the future of Singapore?

 

A flavour of the different perspectives of education and education system in Australia, Finland and the Philippines, compared to Singapore’s: